top of page

Circus - Week 13

This week I was back on track, I had a clear plan of what needed to be done and I had to do it fast in order to stay on my schedule. I started off

sculpting the terrain in the engine so that it wasn't just a flat area. I had real issues doing fine detail with the terrain tools as the brush seemed to pick up large areas and blow them up to a large size but didn't really handle the finer details. I spent much longer than I intended on trying to get the terrain right and it was a constant uphill struggle. Not a great start to the week but I made it work.

As soon as terrain was in a workable state, I couldn't wait until it was all textured as I struggled to visualise anything further as I couldn't imagine a workable level on this grey plain, at this point I definitely wasn't very happy with the project. I made 3 texture maps for the ground, one with grass, one dirt and one wooden panelled flooring. Whilst working on the wooden panel texture, I couldn't get the panel to be tilable without showing some very visible seems. I struggled with this for 2 days before I decided to change the design and go for a more authentic, tile pattern instead.

Further on through the week I managed to quickly texture and model a caravan, I also made a broken down version that can use the same texture sheet.

My last task on my list this week was to quickly create a few pieces of foliage to place around the level and get a feel of what I'm designing and how I can get that abandoned circus feeling.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
  • b-facebook
bottom of page