top of page

Circus - Week 19

The first thing I did this week, doesn't seem very interesting but helped compile the textures onto a single sheet instead of using multiple. This was done in Photoshop by adding each map into a different colour channel on a single texture sheet. In order to save even more space whilst adding variety, I decided to create colour masks for different areas so that I could use the same texture on different versions of the same asset whilst being able to change the base colour of the object using UE4 material blueprints.

I used these techniques to complete the modular texturing so that I could move on to changing the circus turn on lever. I decided to remove the lever for turning the whole level on and use a trigger box instead, this gives the impression that someone is acting behind the scene and has their eye on you. It also meant that the player is looking at the scene when all the lights turn on instead of looking down at a lever where they would miss the whole event. The lever wouldn't go to waste however as I decided to add that as a separate control for the Ferris wheel just in front of it.

To add to the crime scene narrative a little more, I added some flashing blue and red lights where the player could only see the reflections, this was to avoid wasting efficiency and time on modelling a police car and suggests the the player may or may not be a police officer.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
  • b-facebook
bottom of page