top of page

Circus - Week 1

This is the final project of my entire course at university. I'm not really sure what I want to do, all I know is that the ideal project needs to keep me interested and passionate about what I am creating. Due to having quite a long list of areas of game art that really excite me, from characters to environments and dioramas, it’s going to be really hard picking which area to focus on.

Before officially starting the project, it was required to fill in a FMP specification sheet. This essentially listed the project description, what I wanted to be marked on and an overall generalisation of the project.

After giving it much thought and much discussion with the tutors, I decided to go with a stylised circus environment set in the dead of night. The idea was to create a stylised scene with a creepy atmosphere that really set’s a dark and slightly unsettling mood. I was also asked to bring up an image that sums up the environment I wanted to create which is shown below.

Weird Park - Broken Tune

In my brief I specified that I would deliver a UE4 project containing the entire project in a map as well as various concept art for the largest, key assets. My optional goals were utilising various UE4 functions to provide particle effects, motion and lighting. My main, personal goal is to deliver stylised yet efficient, game ready assets. The aim isn't to deliver a playable level, but showcasing various assets with a small story involved.

For my first week on the project, my main focus was on developing ideas around how the finished product was going to look. As this was quite an ambitious task for 1 person, I needed to make sure that I had a clear idea of what I wanted the final piece to look like. I created 3 moodboards, 2 of which, were focused on images of different textures that would belong to circus related assets, I also included some colour scheming images to help the maps. I spent the longest on the 3rd moodboard, this was because that moodboard was to contain images of smaller, repeatable assets that I wouldn't have to concept, this moodboard was also annotated describing what changes I wanted to make.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
  • b-facebook
bottom of page